Guest Blogger – Mandi Dunlop Ferraro

My name is Mandi Dunlop Ferraro, I live in Llanelli and I graduated as a Fine Art student on a multi-media Degree course from Swansea Metropolitan University in 2009.

I took part in two journalism work tasters organised by GO Wales and enjoyed both experiences. I wanted to see how my writing skills would work in a professional setting. The feedback was very positive and the articles in my portfolio are really impressive.

Swansea Bay Futureswww.abayoflife.com
I was immediately made to feel part of the editorial team. After a brief introduction I was uploading my own features direct to the website. I was just given raw facts, figures and photographs regarding Council initiatives, local projects and whatever news might be made into interesting articles for Swansea Bay businesses and the local community.

With magazines Swansea Life and Swansea Business Lifewww.swansealife.co.uk

I worked for a week with the Editor, Wyn Jenkins. For Swansea Business Life Sept/Oct 2010 I wrote about corporate entertainment. How do you keep your business clients happy in Swansea Bay area? It looks like my extensive research paid off as the 3 page feature is really impressive.

During the course of my week’s works experience I researched and interviewed: Jonny Rees: Mr United Kingdom, Alice Taylor: Miss Swansea City and Claire Hammacott:  West End stage musical success.

An example of my work for Swansea Life Magazine:

When was the last time you saw a transvestite fly down from the clouds? Well your luck would have been in when two drag artists were seen falling with style through the skies above Swansea Airport. Raising over £1,000 for Pontardulais animal charity, LLys Nini and still collecting more, drag artists CC Swan and Lucy Lou had an audience of fans and friends awaiting their safe, but predictably dramatic landing.

Future plans

My success with the GO Wales experiences gave me the confidence to approach The Evening Post’s Assistant Editor direct by email for a week’s work experience. I went through an official application process and was thrilled to be accepted almost by return!

Casual work is now keeping me fed and paying the bills while I explore my creative talents!

I have ideas of where I should be aiming next, but would admit to having no structured plans as yet.