Jennifer walks 60 miles in aid of breast cancer

Huge congratulations are in order for Jennifer Evans GO Wales Finance Officer at Swansea who recently jetted off to Michigan USA, to take part in the Susan G. Komen 3-Day for the Cure 60 mile walk in aid of breast cancer.

Jennifer who is originally from Chicago raised a total of raised a total of $8,750 with her sister Wendy who also took part in the event. The grand total fundraised for the Michigan event was $4 million.  

Susan G. Komen for the Cure®, is the global leader of the breast cancer movement, having invested more than $1.9 billion since inception in 1982. As the world’s largest grassroots network of breast cancer survivors and activists, they’re working together to save lives, empower people, ensure quality care for all and energise science to find the cures.

Jennifer tells us about her experience;

My sister Wendy is a breast cancer survivor, she and my other sister did the 3 day event in 2010 and I was inspired by the challenge they accomplished. I wanted to be a part of what seemed like an amazing opportunity and also do my part to find a cure for breast cancer.

The walk took place in Michigan USA 12-14 August. It started in Novi, ended at the Ford World Headquarters in Dearborn and also went through Northville and Plymouth Michigan.

The atmosphere of the event was electric, for 3 days I was made to feel like a princess. All the crew were extremely helpful and the route was lined with supporters wishing us good luck, thanking us for what we were doing and shedding tears from the emotion of it all. We camped out for two nights and the campsite was a large part of the positive experience. It was like being in a happy pink bubble for 3 days.

I would like to thank everybody who supported me in my journey. I could never have raised the sponsorship without all the encouragement and generous giving that I received.