Our latest Freelancer Academy Video!

We’ve developed a brand spanking new video with the help of Zipline Creative featuring the GO Wales Freelancer Academy course. The free week long course is aimed at graduates interested in developing the skills needed to embark on a freelance career. For many, the course has provided an opportunity to evaluate business ideas and network with like-minded individuals.

The next course is taking place at Glyndwr University in November 2013 and applications can be made via the GO Wales website. Additional courses are planned throughout Wales during 2014.

Featured in the Video – Heledd Roberts

Heledd Roberts

Heledd Roberts gained a 1st Class BA Honours in Creative Lens Media from Glyndwr University in 2012; shortly after graduation she took part in the GO Wales Freelancer Academy at Bangor University.

Heledd possessed the skills to be a successful photographer but lacked entrepreneurial and marketing skills. For Heledd, the free week-long course was a chance to for her develop the skills and knowledge needed to start a career as a freelance photographer. Before she started the course Heledd said;

“The Academy would be the perfect course to attend for me to further my knowledge in this field. Becoming a freelance photographer is important to me as I can have my own control over my work. A further understanding of the business world would improve my efficiency and confidence as a photographer. I believe that the Academy will aid me in starting up a business well, and therefore creating a sustainable business. I hope that the Academy will also point out my weaknesses as an entrepreneur, so that I can work on improving and becoming a well-rounded businessperson.”

Since the Freelancer Academy Heledd has set up her own photography business Heledd Roberts’ focusing on fashion, portrait and wedding photography from Bala in North Wales.