My Video Production Experience at dezrez

 

dezrez

 

University of South Wales student Ted Oliver was looking for work experience in between his second and third years at university. He applied for a part-time GO Wales Work Placement as a video animator with dezrez in Swansea. Ted tells us more about his experience…

“I had finished my second year of my degree in animation at University of South Wales and was looking for work to simply pay the bills. I applied to this placement on a whim, thinking it was a long shot to get a job where I’m actually doing something I enjoy. To my surprise I was hired!”

“My work placement involved creating a series of web videos for dezrez to highlight their range of estate agency software. This also extended into other visual assets for the company.”

“Right now we have produced two videos; one for the dezrez sales and lettings software and one for dezrez property management software. There is also a dezrez company timeline video in the pipeline as well as various video assets to help dezrez produce instructional videos once I have completed my placement.”

“Above all else, learning the communication and interpersonal skills required for this job has been the greatest benefit for me. Having never had a job in this sort of environment, learning professional conduct has been most helpful skill by far. I’ve also discovered the numerous benefits of planning my work; not only does it get more done but it is also necessary to keep people in the loop about what you’re doing. This is something I’ve taken for granted in my university work and I will definitely be taking it forward to future projects.”

“I will be returning to university for the final year of my course where I will be producing a film and further developing my animation skills to create more professional, high-end videos.  I intend in the future after this to set up my own design studio, with dezrez hopefully wanting to be a much-valued client.”