The Freelancer Academy helped me launch my business!

Laura Powell

Swansea Photo Journalism graduate Laura Powell who studied at the University of Wales, Trinity Saint David has started her photography business ‘Maple Images’ in Mumbles after taking part in a Freelancer Academy.

The GO Wales Freelancer Academy is a free, one week training course designed to help enterprising graduates to develop the skills, knowledge and confidence needed to launch their business ideas.

Laura took part in the Freelancer Academy in September 2013 in the hope of pursuing a career as a freelance photographer, she explains…

“I applied for the course because I wanted to gain more knowledge in the financial aspects of running a business and being self-employed. I also wanted to learn how to apply my current skill-set to working as a freelancer.”

“It was great to speak with other course participants who were in the same situation as me and it was inspiring to hear a variety of different business ideas. Having the opportunity to discuss ideas as a group was beneficial and helped me to assess the viability of my business idea.”

“It was great to have guest speakers and a past course participant come in and give presentations to the group outlining their experiences, with a question and answer session. It was useful to have the opportunity to speak with successful freelancers and discuss any concerns of being a freelancer with them.”

Laura

“When I took part in the Freelancer Academy I was working for a company. Since the Academy I have left that position and am currently building up my business ‘Maple Images’ as a freelance photographer.   I undertake all aspects of photography: portraiture, commercial work, family portraits, product photography and I have a portable studio. I am based in Mumbles, Swansea but willing to travel throughout the UK.”

Twitter : Mapleimagesuk

laura 2

Next Course 

The next Freelancer Academy course takes place at the University of Wales, Trinity Saint David Swansea campus on April 7th 2014 and the closing date is 14th March.

Additional courses are also planned at Cardiff and Aberystwyth; you apply online at www.gowales.co.uk/freelanceracademy