Laura makes her year with GO Wales!

By Laura Bailey

Laura Bailey (1)

As a History graduate, despite my high attainment I always knew I would have to work hard whilst studying for my MA in Communication, Media Practice and Public Relations to build relevant work experience. Within the last year I have been fortunate enough to gain a place on the Graduate Academy and a work placement through GO Wales (all of this despite my English heritage!).

Since taking part in the Graduate Academy in the last few months of 2013 I have been offered a work placement as a Marketing and Recruitment Coordinator. The leadership and marketing skills gained at the Graduate Academy have undoubtedly assisted me in gaining this position. I am now in charge of my own work load and this has allowed me to be flexible with my Masters qualification.

With all the skills I have learnt and developed across my university education and through various GO Wales qualifications I am looking to set up my own Digital Media consultancy. As a result, I am once again turning to GO Wales in the hope of gaining a place on the Freelancer Academy this year.

Working, studying through GO Wales and Swansea University means I have very long days but I am constantly receiving praise from others on my strong CV and my work ethic. Online GO Wales has allowed me to broaden my local connections in Swansea which will undoubtedly help me when looking to secure roles in the future. I cannot thank the staff at GO Wales enough for the opportunities they have offered me. The staff are always very friendly and they demonstrate an appreciation of what it is like to have a job whilst pursuing an education – something that has contributed to my success.

My tips for others would be to make the most of the free services that are available to help you find relevant work experience and qualifications. Not just GO Wales but your local university or library.  This is something that I have also done this year and I was lucky enough to get a one week work placement at The Wave and Swansea Sound. This was a great opportunity to gain experience in a number of areas including journalism, sales, marketing and events. My current boss has also told me that whilst talking with friends in London recently someone there had recommended me due to my extensive work experience. That instantly made me feel like the 6am starts and weekend work are completely worth it!

In years to come I would love to see myself running a successful business and being able to contribute to the GO Wales programmes to encourage others young and older people to improve their prospects through education and experience.