From Graduate to Businesswoman and Award Winning Photographer

sixties

The day I received a phone call asking me if I would like to attend the Freelancer Academy set me on the trajectory of success to where I am today. I jumped at the opportunity because it gave me the push to pursue my ambition to pursue my journalistic aspirations and learn about the business world. The Freelance Academy tutors treated me like a professional from the very beginning.  I was sitting in a room of young and talented individuals, from songwriters and music producers to graphic designers and legal consultants,many of which I am still in contact with today.

A year later I secured a  paid marketing work placement through the GO Wales scheme, in which I was given the chance to devise and implement a marketing strategy for the Cae Mor Hotel in Llandudno. By day I was out of my comfort zone networking and creating presentations and holding meetings whilst developing a marketing strategy for the business. I read the Chartered Institute of Marketing’s website and learnt about best practice in PR. My personal development plan for my City and Guilds qualification at the end of the placement acted as a catalyst for my business ambitions.

I implemented my new knowledge in the promotion of my lifestyle blog, Amys Imaginarium, whilst  putting what was soon to be the foundations of my business plan together. I knew I had a long way to go before I could commit to a full-time business. I was expecting my first baby in October but I knew that I could use my maternity leave to work on building my blogs followers and online presence whilst  keeping up to date with social media and its applications in the business world. It was the first step on the way to becoming the Creative Director for my marketing and communications consultancy The House of Letters.

selfieworldphotographycompetition

When my maternity leave finished I started working with clients on a part-time basis from home. I have had to learn to be disciplined, committed to promoting my business at all hours and the fact that I am a professional development addict helps too!  I launched my business The House of Letters January of this year bringing my marketing and PR knowledge as well as my interests in photography, design and app development all together. I call myself the Creative Director because it is the creative aspect that I adore the most. I can integrate my passion for writing and photography and all things digital into my business and help clients stand out  from the rest whilst engaging with customers through integrated, professional and creative marketing campaigns.

I recently found out that a photograph I have taken through an Instagram “selfie” competition is going to be exhibited from 1st to the 18th May at Somerset House in London for the Sony World Photography Awards Exhibition 2014. I am honored to have been chosen to exhibit alongside internationally renowned photographers in a cultural landmark of Great Britain. I am currently in the process of developing my artistic portfolio and my passion for photography and art is just as strong as ever. I now offer commercial and creative photographic services as part of The House of Letters and you can’t beat the buzz of calling yourself an “award winning” photographer.