Katy reflects on her GO Wales Taster experience at Petersens PR!

Petersens PR, based in Cardiff, recently took on Journalism and Media student Katy Harries as part of a GO Wales Taster. Katy tells us a little more about how the experience has helped her career!

Guest post by Katy Harris

katy-photo1Today is my last day in the Petersens office. The past eight weeks have been incredibly eye-opening and insightful. I’ve had the opportunity to get real hands-on experience of the inner, day-to-day workings, in a busy PR office.

If I am completely honest I expected to be making the tea for the whole taster, when in fact I have had the chance to get stuck in and help the team with their day-to-day work. I’ve been lucky enough to practice writing press releases, one of which was used in the Western Mail. And yes, it is on my fridge! I’ve also been able to write blogs for clients, research and compile media packs and contact publications directly. I didn’t think for a second that I would have this much input and a chance to develop real material that would be used. I’ve received consistent, constructive feedback from the team, which has been invaluable, especially as the office has been so busy!

One of the highlights over the past eight weeks has been attending the Cardiff Breakfast Club. I was fortunate enough to be a part of the entire process of the event from the beginning to end. Bright and early Eira and I made our way to the St David’s Hotel & Spa and set up the room ready for the guests. Jon Horne from Cardiff airport was the guest speaker and spoke passionately about how he plans to develop the airport and make it a firm competitor and restore it to its former success. It was a fantastic experience being part of the Breakfast Club and I even had the chance to network with industry professionals over breakfast.

I cannot emphasise enough how friendly and supportive the team has been right from my first day. They took a genuine interest in getting to know me and are fantastic people to work with. I really hope to stay in touch with the wonderful people I’ve met at Petersens and wish them all the best in the future!

This post was originally written for the Petersens PR blog.