Graduate Academy leads to career opportunity for Kasia

Kasia Pugh

Film and Screen Studies graduate, Kasia Pugh, decided to apply for the GO Wales Graduate Academy to gain work experience to help broaden her career opportunities. Kasia tells us more about her experience and how her time on the Academy led to a great opportunity in the heritage industry.

When I applied for the Graduate Academy I had just finished writing my final piece for my undergraduate degree and I was faced with the underlying fears that I had been carrying with me – I had no real experience of working life despite having all the skills that I had learnt in theory in throughout my education. I applied for the Academy as I believed it would help me gain that experience I lacked, whilst teaching me new skills and giving me a qualification at the end of it – all helpful for a CV!

Graduate Academy Work Placement – Brymbo Heritage Group

After having the choice of two placements to go on, I chose to complete my placement with Brymbo Heritage Group. They are a local heritage group that are working hard to preserve the heritage area, encourage the engagement of the community and develop the area into a visitor attraction, education centre, community hub and commercial enterprise.

In my role, I was invited to bring my own ideas to the group whilst receiving invaluable support from my placement provider. The main task I was faced with was developing a system to safely archive both the physical copies and electronic copies of over 6000 photographs in an effective way, which would mean that both versions of the image would be easily accessible. I developed a database which meant that this could be done, as well as a system for the physical storage of the photographs. As well as this, I helped organise the opening of an exhibition and the running of an open day.

Best start to graduate career

Since completing the placement that I did as part of the Academy, I have been offered a position with Brymbo Heritage Group as an Assistant Heritage Officer, so the whole experience has been hugely beneficial to me. I have gained employment, been equipped with the essential business knowledge that I previously lacked, and made a great start to my career.

If it wasn’t for the Graduate Academy, I wouldn’t have the confidence in my own skills that I have now, and I would still feel as lost as I did before I started the programme! The Graduate Academy has given me the best start to graduate life and my future career.